May 28 , 2017

Ishay Shaer, piano  






Buy Tickets


@ the Heliconian Hall (map)

Considered one of the leading Israeli pianists of his generation, Ishay Shaer has performed in numerous concerts throughout the world and has won both national and international prizes. Among other venues, he has given recitals and concerto performances at the Queen Elizabeth Hall and the Purcell Room, UK; Warsaw Philharmonic Hall, Poland; deSingel Antwerp, Belgium; Sala Sinfonica Pablo Casals, Puerto Rico; Sala Sao Paulo, Brazil; Preston Bradley Hall in Chicago in the USA; and Teatro Solis, Uruguay. His performances include concerts for the Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concert Series, Dr Anton Philipszaal piano series (Holland), Montreal Bach Festival in Canada, Swansea Festival of Music and Arts in the UK, Gdnask Music Festival in Poland, “Semanas Musicales” de Frutillar in Chile, Dimitria Festival in Greece and Israel Festival.

In April 2011 he was called on a two days notice to substitute for Fazil Say with the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra. This led to six subsequent concerts in the orchestra’s subscription series, four of them at Israel’s main concert hall, the 2700-seat Mann Auditorium. Nearly six months later he made his debut at the grand hall of the Tonhalle Zurich, performing with Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne, to earn critical acclaim in various media outlets, including the German magazine “Das Orchester”: “Embedded in the orchestral sound, almost overshined by playful joy, Ishay Shaer plays Concerto KV 488 in A Major expressively, with a differentiated touch, a soul deep articulation and a thrilling phrasing. A storyteller who knows his Mozart well”.

In recent years Ishay Shaer has established himself as a reputable chamber music performer. He has played with cellist Mischa Maisky, the Bennewitz Quartet, the RTÉ Contempo Quartet and the New Hellenic Quartet. His arrangement for piano trio of Beethoven’s ‘The Tempest’ piano sonata has garnered praise and was described as “an immeasurably pleasing masterwork… sounded like one of Beethoven’s finest trios” by Haaretz newspaper.

Canadian Composer: Jean Coulthard: Image Astrale
Schubert:  Sonata A+ 959
Prokofiev: Sonata #6






Comments are closed.